Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on GDC Servers- Ingest during Playback

Hi all,

I manage tech in two theater locations, one has GDC SX-2000, and the other SR-1000. We've noticed it's impossible to ingest full length features during playback, it'll either cause lag in the other theaters or the ingest will be horrifically slow. Typically we ingest early in the morning or late at night when nothing is playing. However, my bosses want us to be able to ingest while showtimes are running. Does anyone know a work around for this? I think it's just a GDC issue myself, the system just seems to be unable to handle multiple tasks at once. However I am also new to learning digital cinema, so would love to hear from this community as I know your experience excels mine. Any advice would be much appreciated, thank you so much!

Are you INGESTING content or TRANSFERRING content? There is a big difference. GDC does not recommend transferring any content around on the network during playback.

You can certainly ingest LOCALLY during playback. It does take longer to do so while a film is running. For that SX-2000, it's best to ingest using the CRU drive bay using a hard drive.

Comment

It can be either, transferring from another theater or our NAS which is separate storage system but is connected to all theaters. Ingesting from our Deluxe box causes lag, and if we're transferring content. We've found even ingesting from the NAS causes lag in neighboring screens even if the content is not going into that server. I ingested from a drive directly during Dune and it was probably 1% every few minutes and we needed the content within the hour. That was more of an emergency situation and not typical of our operation.

Comment

Our rule of thumb with GDC no transfer or ingest while content is playing the servers tend to stutter the playback

Comment