Projectors and 3D Printing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Projectors and 3D Printing

Hi all, I’m relatively new to film but eager to do more! Currently I’m doing research exploring if 3D printing can be used to help fix portable 16mm projectors and wanted to ask you all what your thoughts are (are there any specific parts that would benefit this?), also are any particular brands of projectors that have a common issue associated with them that could be fixable with 3D printing.

I have seen that Van Eck Video Services does this but wanted to hear from you all.

Any information you share is helpful. Thank you!

Like with everything else, it really depends on the parts you want to print and with what technology... Many critical projector parts must be able to survive in relatively harsh conditions. Tension stress, constant heat cycles, UV light exposure and potential exposure to lubricants comes to mind. All stuff to factor in when choosing your replacement materials.

Replacing something originally made from metal with 3D printed plastics is usually not a good idea. A good altenrative for 3D printing might be CNC milling, as it produces genuine metal parts with considerable strength and durability.

Comment

Originally posted by Marcel Birgelen View Post
      A good altenrative for 3D printing might be CNC milling, as it produces genuine metal parts with considerable strength and durability.
      You can also print parts with 3-D printing in the normal way then use that as a pattern to cast the part out of metal.

They sell a liquid ceramic dip that hardens in an oven like glass. Then you pack the result in refractory cement and bake it in a kiln. The plastic will melt and burn away, leaving a perfect mold for the part to be cast from.

Once the part is cast in metal, break the mold cool the part then finish by hand or machine, as the case may be.

Comment