Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

RCA model 400 Junior (1345-C) 16mm projector amplifier schematic.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RCA model 400 Junior (1345-C) 16mm projector amplifier schematic.

Hi,

I have acquired an RCA model 400 Junior in very nice condition but the 1345-C amplifier needs work! The insulation on the main power cable had completely deteriorated so I've replaced it with a grounded 3 prong plug. I plan to install an isolation transformer in the amplifier as it's the version that runs a pair of 50L6 power tubes, a 12AY7 in the preamp and a 6SL7 phase inverter without a power transformer ie a widowmaker . The service manuals I've found so far lack the pages that contain the schematic for this model. It's on Pages 54-57 of the manual stamped with TITANIC on the film-tech site that ends on page 47! If anyone has the other pages I'd very much appreciate it! I've been restoring tube amplifiers for a few years now and am comfortable working on them so you can be confident that you will not be responsible for my death by supplying the missing pages ... any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Happy new year to all! John.

I used to service a lot of 16mm projectors a very long time ago, but the school district did not have any RCA's. There is an RCA 400 amplifier for sale on Ebay for a ludicrous amount, but it appears different than yours. But standard electronic troubleshooting procedures should bring it back to life. My SOP was to replace all the electrolytic and coupling / bypass capacitors, check resistor values and replace any that are out of tolerance, test and replace any bad tubes. Then power it up slowly via a 120 volt variac while watching for smoke and flames. Then see if it's working again. Short of a transformer being bad it ought to work fine. Oh, also check the exciter lamp for continuity.

Comment

Thanks Mark!