Making the best Popcorn

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making the best Popcorn

I'm new to the Theatre industry and bought a single screen in my hometown in March 2020 right before the Covid shutdown. It's my hobby to my primary ISP business so it didn't hurt me but I'm learning as much as I can.

When I bought it, the owners were using Sam's Club kernels, LouAna coconut oil, LouAna butter flavored topping, Snappy fine salt for popping and shaker salt.

Since then, I have switched to Pop Weaver Gold kernels, still using LouAna coconut oil, and Funtastic butter flavored topping, Flavacol salt in each batch we pop, and keeping Snappy fine salt for the shakers.

I have read old forums posts about people liking Supur-Kist topping from ODell's. Is this the way to go for topping?

What is everyone using for their great tasting theatre popcorn? Kernels, popping oil, topping, salts, maybe your kettle like Cretors or something else?

I'm willing to try new things in order to offer great tasting popcorn. Our current popcorn tastes better than the multiplexes near us but if I can make it even better, I want to.

If you really want the best popcorn then use butter. None of this "topping oil" crap.

The phrase HOT BUTTERED POPCORN exists for a reason.

I buy butter at the local Coop and melt that down to put on the popcorn and I'm convinced that sells the popcorn. My menu board says "Popcorn with Real Butter" and everyone appreciates that.

There's no extra charge for extra butter either. Some folks want "butter in the middle" and I can do that. No butter at all? I can do that too. The price is the same with extra butter or none. Want to come back with your half-eaten bucket of popcorn and get more butter? Sure, no charge!

EDIT TO ADD:
    One additional point that I should make about using butter: You'll probably have to do some experimenting to find the best brand of butter to use for that purpose.