Popcorn Machine Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Popcorn Machine Recommendations

So, we're looking to replace our current machine. It's a 1936 Burch World's Fair model. In short, it's tired.

Was wondering if anyone had a particular model or brand they've really enjoyed? (Too bad Manley wasn't around....)

I have my eye on the Cretors Mach 5 at the moment. Any of the extra upgrades worth it? I would prefer a model with a base for storage, etc. It would really clear up some counter space I use for corn storage and the like. Hoping to add additional concession items with the extra space.

Just wanted anyone's 2 cents on the matter. We're a 200 seat single.

Two years ago I bought a new Pop Maxx machine. This is it here on my counter:

20191108_162017.jpg

It replace an identical Pop Maxx machine that I had been using for about fifteen years until the kettle developed some issues and it turned out that I could buy the whole new machine for not much more than just a kettle.

Before that I had a Star machine that I used from the day I opened and for the following ten years until it fell apart, literally. The Pop Maxx is much cheaper than most of the other brands and it works just as well. I'm also not a fan of machines where you can't easily take the kettle out to clean it every night -- with this one you just unplug the kettle and lift right out.

Comment

Ours is a Cretors Diplomat that we got new in 1996. To date we have put exactly one repair part into it: The heating element in the bottom tray ("Cornditioner," as they call it). The kettle is not removable but it is easy to clean -- our crew has it down to about a 10 minute job every night. The only other thing I've done to it is replace the filters, but other than that it's been trouble-free.