Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Covid testing trauma

>> WARNING- RANT AHEAD! <<

I am scheduled to go out of town for about 10 days next week to work at a big show/event. I was just informed by folks I'll be working for that I will need to be fully vaccinated (no problem) and COVID tested and send them the results 24hrs before my departure date - - or they will cancel my airline tickets. While this sounded like a reasonable, although somewhat inconvenient request, in the end, it turned into a big-friggin' pain in the ass for me.

Being self-employed, I do not carry any health insurance. But, being a military veteran, I have excellent coverage through the local VA Hospital, and, quite frankly, they have always taken very good care of me. I have no complaints about the them or the care I've gotten over the years. I wouldn't be alive right now if it wasn't for them.

> BUT: The VA will not test me, because, in accordance with current CDC guidelines, 1) I'm not actually sick, 2) I can't prove that I've been in contact with a COVID infected person, 3) I am not flying to a foreign country or region that requires testing before entry, 4) Although I'm being tested as a condition for work, my occupation, according to CDC guidelines, does not qualify me as eligible to be tested. "Occupational Testing" is limited more or less to people working in health care & care-giving facilities, public safety, and some governmental jobs.