Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » 16mm Projector B&H Out of Sync

Author Topic: 16mm Projector B&H Out of Sync
Antonio Castles
Film Handler

- posted 06-07-2012 09:27 AM      Profile for Antonio Castles   Email Antonio Castles   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,

I'm an art student from Bogotá, Colombia. Recently, I started to work with 16mm film. I have 2 B&H Projectors (1693 and 2535), and I decided to do an installation. I cut a segment of film and made it run through both projectors at the same time. Both were set at 24 fps, but after a while it was evident that the 1693 projector was running a little bit slower, and the film started to stretch progressively. What can I do about it? there are no repair services here. It is an almost unnoticeable problem, but its a big problem for my installation. How can I make sure that both projectors run at the exact same speed?

Also, I have considered to make loop projections, but I can't seem to find any projector loopers at an affordable price. Is there a free design out there? Can they be home made? Is it possible to find one design that works also with super 8?

Thank you for your time.

|  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 06-07-2012 10:17 AM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There is no way to perfectly synchronize the two projectors without spending a lot of time and money. Standard electric motors just run at their own speed and that's that. You would need to change the projector's motor to a synchronous type which "locks" to the frequency of the electrical supply and runs at a specific speed all of the time.