Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Strong Platter Flinging Film Off During Credits

Author Topic: Strong Platter Flinging Film Off During Credits
Allan Van't Padje
Film Handler

- posted 07-09-2009 10:21 PM      Profile for Allan Van't Padje   Email Allan Van't Padje   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Guys!

I'm new to the film-tech forum (definately not new to the website though), and just wondering if anyone can help with a problem with our Strong platter.

Our middle plate seems to be paying out too fast, but only during the credits of an average 2 hour film, causing it to 'fling' the film around. I've replaced all the motors fly wheel rubbers, re-adjusted all the motors and they all appear to be running similar speed (I engaged all the plates onto rewind and placed markers on each plate to tell if they are running at similar speed), the middle plate is ever so slightly faster, no matter how much I try and adjust it. Any suggestions appreciated. We've been running these platters for 12 years, never had any problems, so never really paid much attention to them, so don't know an awful lot about them (and the manual is next to useless).

Thanks, Allan [Smile]

|  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 07-09-2009 10:28 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Are they the kind with the electronic (phase control) payout circuits or just plain microswitches?

If they are the microswitch kind, have you checked your variac adjustment? (Zero adjustment.)

Check that then retime all three decks.

These procedrues are pretty straightforward.

All the information is in your manuals.