Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Lamp not striking on Victoria 5

Author Topic: Lamp not striking on Victoria 5
Tim McLendon
Film Handler

- posted 12-10-2007 07:45 AM      Profile for Tim McLendon   Email Tim McLendon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings Everyone!

Long time lurker and first time poster.

I'm a Christie Tech here in the Gulf South and 99% of what I do is digital cinema and OSA. The other 1% is trying to keep 3 Victoria 5's running.

The only issues I've had so far with the V-5's is the motor burning up. These motors date to 1985 and hence the insulation on the internal wires crack, flake off, and then short.

I'm lucky enough to have 3 decommissioned V-5's to rob motors from, but now I'm down to my last one and I'm slightly drifting off topic here.

Friday night I had another motor burn up on me so I replaced it with a decommissioned motor. After replacing the motor and a fuse everything ran fine but now the lamp won't strike and I am at a loss on how to diagnose this further.

Edited to ad: I believe this projector has the Zenith X3000H lamphouse and I am looking through the manual (found here) now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Tim

|  IP: Logged

German Marin
Expert Film Handler

- posted 12-10-2007 03:05 PM      Profile for German Marin   Email German Marin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Probably is the igniter, I'm sure there is an IREM igniter, and the igniter dated in those years has that problem.

Tim McLendon
Film Handler

- posted 12-10-2007 07:23 PM      Profile for Tim McLendon   Email Tim McLendon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks for the reply!

Could the igniter also be referred to as the Exciter Lamp Housing Assembly as shown below?

-