Doremi Motherboards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doremi Motherboards

Does any body know the reliability of these X7XBE main boards in these servers as they age. We have two units here that are not functional anymore. The tech that talked to our manager says the motherboard is bad. Now bear with me I am just starting to learn how this stuff works. I have a server on the bench and it is booted up with no errors. I probably won’t get much of anywhere without actually hooking it up to a projector. It was throwing errors about the IMB. I really have a hard time believing the motherboard is just bad. Usually my experience with motherboards is they either just work or not. What do you guys think?

Seen as a full DCI server, 'non-functional' could be anything. I have rarely, if ever, seen Doremi motherboards die. Usually, it's a different problem with the Dolphin card, the IMB, the powersupples, the boot disc, etc.

- Carsten

Comment

As Carsten says. However if the server boots fine and reaches the GUI I’d agree the mobo looks fine but you won’t know until it’s actually hooked up to a projector as you say.

Comment

Might be worth changing the CMOS battery if the thing is old enough.

I have seen servers in truly awful conditions like tons of moisture, construction dust, salt, and/or oil in the air lose a motherboard, but that's about it.

Motherboard is something to blame if the thing won't even POST. And even then, power supplies, memory, and power supply backplane (in that order) would be the things I would swap if I can't get the thing to POST before I blame the motherboard. Rarely, a squirrely dolphin board will cause it.

If it will POST but not boot to a desktop, check BIOS settings including boot order, swap the ssd/cf card.

If it boots to desktop but things still no worky, reinstall the software package.

Comment