4642a driver replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4642a driver replacement

Hi. We blew a cone in our 4642a sub (see the post about Voyagers) and we're looking to replace the driver itself rather than shell out $$ for a new sub. The 2241H driver is old and a bit hard to come by, but I've seen a few suggest that the 2268HPL is a valid alternative (in addition to being newer and cheaper). Does anyone have any experience with this kind of swap? Is there another alternative for the old 2241H driver? I'm new at this

Why do you not consider the re-cone solution to repair of drivers?

Comment

Yup. This is a very expensive driver. Within the US, there should be many companies offering reconing services. The parts are usually genuine JBL, so there is nothing to worry about.

Comment

Reconing should be entirely possible, but do yourself a favor and recone both drivers. If one already failed, the other one is probably just weeks or months away from suffering the same fate and your speaker will be more balanced if you give them both a refurb.

Comment

Hadn't considered re coning but I'm watching YouTube on it now. Seems doable.

Comment

The 2241H is definitely a recone candidate. Furthermore, it should not be hard to obtain new. The 2241HPL may not be available as an over-the-counter driver but it would be available as a service part. I definitely would not mix and match a 2241 with a 2268. They are different motors, different displacements.

The cheapest/best solution is recone the failed driver. Second best solution, buy a replacement driver of the same make/model. If you want more out of that box you could buy a pair of 2242HPL drivers (its a better driver and more suited to subwoofer duty) but that is probably more than you want to spend.

Comment