X-box on a theater screen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X-box on a theater screen

I've had a person ask about renting the theater for a party in which the kids will play X-box for a couple of hours. I've never done this before, nor have I ever even seen an X-box up close. So I'm curious how I would need to work it in the theater.

Can I plug the x-box unit in in the booth and use the controllers in the auditorium or does the box need to be near the controllers?

I assume x-box has an HDMI output for sound...?

Any hints, tips, procedures or pitfalls would be appreciated.

We have a good HDMI transmitter (hooks up to xbox or whatever) and receiver (hooks up to projector in booth) that do that kind of job for us. Back in the day we had an HDMI over ethernet solution that worked as well. As to plugging the xbox directly into the projector,I dont think the xbox controllers would work well from auditorium to booth if they have to transmit through walls. Best bet is a decent transmitter and receiver pair.

Comment

We've had clients use the HDMI ports we put in the theatre for gaming. Just know...there are inherent lags in the DCinema projector as well as most any transmitter/receiver system. For the casual user, it probably is of no issue...for the serious gamer, they'd probably pitch a fit.

Comment

How it works will depend on the type of cinema server and audio processor you are using. If you have a GDC SR-1000, the gaming system (XBOX, SWITCH, PLAYSTATION 3, 4,5) can plug directly into it and pass the sound like running a Blu-Ray player. However, if you have an older SX-2000 (or other older brand) you may want to use one of these:

J-Tech 1080p to HDMI + Audio Extractor and Converter. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BIQER0E..._ap_share&th=1