Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with a home cinema design

Hi,

I am just beginning to put together the idea of a home cinema, a bespoke building outside. I have seen some inspiring home cinema’s owned by members.

I don’t know if this is possible but is there a calculation that can be made that will give the size of the screen, at any given length, using a given lens. I would imagine that an anamorphic film, projected (being the widest aspect) would be the datum?
    Rocket science to me!!
    Any help would be much appreciated.​

Hi Neal,

Give this one a try. It looks as though it may do what you need...

Comment

Originally posted by Neal Scanlan View Post
      ... is there a calculation that can be made that will give the size of the screen[?]...
      Any measurement (dimension) on the film, times the focal length of the lens is equal to the same dimension, projected on the screen, times the throw from the projector to the screen. (Measured from the primary nodal point of the lens.) (Often marked with a "ø" or similar symbol on the lens body.)

For example, if one frame of film is 25 mm (≈1 in.) tall, projected through a 100 mm lens with a throw of 30 meters, your image will be just under 8 meters tall.

* Film = 25 mm
      * Lens = 100 mm
      *Throw = 30,480 mm (100 m)
      *Picture = 7,620 mm (7.62 m)

Film x Lens = Throw x Picture

Just remember to keep your units consistent. It doesn't matter whether you use inches, millimeters, or cubits as long as you use the same units, throughout.

If you have an anamorphic lens, multiply (or divide) by the anamorphic factor. (Usually x2.) In our example, if we were measuring the film horizontally, that 25 mm dimension would appear to be 15.24 meters wide on the screen.