Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Learning to play a piano (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Learning to play a piano
Frank Cox
Film God

- posted 04-08-2015 12:36 AM      Profile for Frank Cox   Author's Homepage   Email Frank Cox   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A lot of the folks on this message board are really smart and artistic dudes, so you will be a great source of advice since I've never tried anything like this before.

I got the idea a little while back that it might be interesting to learn to play a piano. My scheme, such as it is, would be to purchase a digital piano of some sort, then get whatever lessons I need off of ye olde Internet, play around with my piano and see what happens. My ultimate goal would be to be able to play boogie, since I've always got a big kick out of that musical style. I'm sure that in the near term, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star will be more like what I could actually manage to plink out. [Smile]

I did teach myself to read sheet music several years ago with the purpose of adding music to some computerized birthday and Christmas cards and I think a game or two that I wrote at that time. I vaguely recall ripping off some Beethoven and some Dixieland riffs from some sheet music that I found around that time; must have been a program of some sort. But that was all 20+ years back, I've had no reason to look at anything similar since, and I've pretty much forgotten what I used to know about it. I still remember that middle C is in the middle. [Big Grin]

My knowledge of music in general (outside of listening to it) is pretty much nil.