Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Microsoft XL help (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Microsoft XL help
Joe Redifer
You need a beating today

- posted 03-12-2012 10:43 PM      Profile for Joe Redifer   Author's Homepage   Email Joe Redifer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
See what I did there? Y'know, like Simplex XL? Hahaha?? No? OK.

Anyway I am new to Microsoft Excel. I am using Office 2011. I have a column full of times and I would like Excel to add these times. Times are listed in minutes and seconds, no hours though I would like Excel to be able to add hours as necessary. Times are listed like this: 7:21 or 22:08 (again, minutes and seconds). So how do I get the total time of the entire column down at the bottom. You Windows guys say Microsoft is crazy awesome and Apple sux so I assume Excel can do this without me having to alter the way I enter times.

Walk me through this step by step. Thanks.

|  IP: Logged

Chris Slycord
Film God

- posted 03-13-2012 01:56 AM      Profile for Chris Slycord   Email Chris Slycord   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
By "total time" do you mean a running total of time (like 21:00 plus 4:00 becomes 25:00) or do you mean that you are keeping a total for what time of day it is (21:00 then add 4:00 I get 1:00)?

Joe Redifer
You need a beating today

- posted 03-13-2012 02:58 AM      Profile for Joe Redifer   Author's Homepage   Email Joe Redifer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Running total, so 7:21 + 6:38 becomes 13:59 and so on.

Dominic Espinosa
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 03-13-2012 05:10 AM      Profile for Dominic Espinosa   Email Dominic Espinosa   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Assume the following: