Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Anyone got a heater like this in their booth?

Author Topic: Anyone got a heater like this in their booth?
Steven J Hart
Master Film Handler

- posted 02-04-2011 05:56 PM      Profile for Steven J Hart   Author's Homepage   Email Steven J Hart   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
 -

I've got one of these electric unit heaters in the booth, and one in my garage. What has puzzled me for years is this: I can leave the thermostat at the same setting, but if its really cold outside, like -10 F the room will be quite cold, around 55 F. Today, with the temperature outside at about 28 F, the booth was over 70 F. How can I have a 15 degree temperature fluctuation depending entirely on outside temperature? The one in my garage acts exactly the same way.

As you can see from the photo, the thermostat for the unit is mounted in the lower part of the chassis.

|  IP: Logged

Rick Raskin
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 02-04-2011 06:28 PM      Profile for Rick Raskin   Email Rick Raskin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My guess is that your garage and the booth are both poorly insulated and that the heater cannot produce enough heat when it gets really cold outside.

Bruce Hansen
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 02-04-2011 07:51 PM      Profile for Bruce Hansen   Email Bruce Hansen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post