Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Calling Any Drive-In Theatre Experts (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Calling Any Drive-In Theatre Experts
Toby Glanville
Film Handler

- posted 05-01-2007 04:49 PM      Profile for Toby Glanville   Email Toby Glanville   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi there,

I have a difficult question regarding historic drive-in movie theatres. I'm an environmental consultant and I'm doing work on a former drive-in property in Toronto, Ontario. The name of the theatre is the Northeast Drive-In and it was open from 1948 to 1977. I've done some research already and it sounds like parking lots of these old drive-in theatres used to be treated with an oil-based dust suppressant to control the amount of dust created by all the cars coming in and out. What I need to know is whether or not the practice of spreading oil on the lot was a regular maintenance procedure for these historic drive-in theatres. Essentially, I'm looking to establish the degree of likelihood my site was contaminated by a former dust suppressant.

Any suggestions or direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

Toby [Confused]

|  IP: Logged

Darryl Spicer
Film God

- posted 05-01-2007 06:19 PM      Profile for Darryl Spicer     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
hmmmmm not sure of that. I worked a drive-in back in the 80's but nothing like that was ever mentioned to me. We had gravel in the lot between the rows. Remember you probably have oil just from where cars sat in the lot and leaked on the ground.

Chris Slycord
Film God

- posted 05-01-2007 06:25 PM      Profile for Chris Slycord   Email Chris Slycord   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Wouldn't it be simpler to just test the soil?

Toby Glanville
Film Handler