Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Rain-X Anygood?

Author Topic: Rain-X Anygood?
Bill Enos
Film God

- posted 10-11-2005 03:21 PM      Profile for Bill Enos   Email Bill Enos   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Have you tried the stuff? I've ridden briefly in a car with it on the windshield and the rain drops do bead and blow off at speed, other than that 5 minute ride I have no other experience with it. Any opinions on Rain X?

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 10-11-2005 03:41 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
GREAT STUFF ! Use it all the time all year round. Recoat your windshields about once a month with this stuff during the wet seasons-even during winter months.

Just have to do a lot of buffing on the windshield to get the silcone evenly spreaded across the glass surface(s).

If you have a (gasp) SUV, or vehicle with a rear wiper assembly, do the rear window as well with Rain-X.

-Monte

Dick Vaughan
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 10-11-2005 04:05 PM      Profile for Dick Vaughan   Author's Homepage   Email Dick Vaughan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It's also great for coating the field lens on IMAX projectors to keep the dirt off

Paul Mayer
Oh get out of it Melvin, before it pulls you under!

- posted 10-11-2005 04:38 PM      Profile for Paul Mayer   Author's Homepage   Email Paul Mayer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Definitely. We used it every shift at the Caesars Palace Omnimax and I used it on my car and airplane windows when I lived in areas where glass or plexi could fog up. Works well on aircraft anti-ice boots too. Great stuff.

Mike Blakesley
Film God