Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Adding acetone to your gas to get better milage (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Adding acetone to your gas to get better milage
Stephen Frazza
Expert Film Handler

- posted 09-02-2005 12:55 AM      Profile for Stephen Frazza   Author's Homepage   Email Stephen Frazza   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
After reading the gas prices in your area posts I decided to share this.

Acetone in Gas
Readily-available chemical added to gas tank in small proportion improves the fuel's ability to vaporize completely by reducing the surface tension that inhibits vaporization of some fuel droplets.

Now i've been doing this for about 2 months and I say it definately works.
I live about 30 miles from work, and the amount of gas that it took for to me to just get to work or back was a little less than an eighth of a tank.
Now I can make the round trip using slightly more than it took me for one way before.
I have a 2000 Jeep Cherokee and have done nothing diferently to explain this better gas milage to.

So I suggest trying it out especially with the way gas prices are going up right now.

[ 09-02-2005, 01:41 PM: Message edited by: Stephen Frazza ]

|  IP: Logged

Bill Enos
Film God

- posted 09-02-2005 01:29 AM      Profile for Bill Enos   Email Bill Enos   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
No way a little acetone is going to nearly half fuel consumption. Drive 1000 miles without the stuff, recording accurately fuel added to the tank during the period, then repeat while adding acetone, bet there is no measurable difference.

Robert Burtcher
Expert Film Handler

- posted 09-02-2005 02:48 AM      Profile for Robert Burtcher   Email Robert Burtcher   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post