Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Passing of Tony Lautenbach

Author Topic: Passing of Tony Lautenbach
Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 07-19-2005 09:46 AM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I learned Monday of the passing of Tony Lautenbach, general manager of Ash-Stevenson, formerly of Stanley Ash Theatrical Decorators. Service will be held on Thursday and details can be provided by Alex Stephenson at 416-321-1412.

Tony started his theatre career with Strand Lighting in the 1960's. He became shop manager with Stanley Ash Theatrical Decorators about 1972, and stayed with the firm for 33 years, through its merger and change to Ash-Stephenson Inc, until his recent strokes.

A self-taught rigger, electronics and computer technician, and lighting designer, Tony developed most of the products for the firm, such as the TEC8112 cinema dimmers and the DimPac theatrical dimmers, managed the quotes department, and did much of the purchasing and system documentation. Those of us who knew him well were impressed with his knowledge. I worked with Tony as a supplier of drapes, pipe grids and dimmers for 31 years so I think I knew his as well as almost any of his industry contacts.

He was no doubt a genious in many things, from ham radio, electronics design and repair, to computer programs, and CAD drafting, taking on projects well beyond many of us. He was a consumate entrepreneur, even when he was working as an employee.

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 07-19-2005 01:47 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sorry to hear of this passing, for these TEC-8112's are great dimmers.