Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Is Encryption this Difficult to Break? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Is Encryption this Difficult to Break?
Bill Enos
Film God

- posted 06-23-2005 08:42 AM      Profile for Bill Enos   Email Bill Enos   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have a friend who runs Linux as well as XP on his Toshiba laptop. He keeps his personal financial info under Linux and uses an encryption that he downloaded for free. He only, or so he believes has the key to opening the system. He says that it would take several computers running very sophisticated, expensive and difficult to obtain software thousands of hours to crack his system. Though I have little knowledge on this subject, I tend to think he is deluding himself. Any thoughts from those who would know??

|  IP: Logged

Dave Williams
Wet nipple scene

- posted 06-23-2005 09:59 AM      Profile for Dave Williams   Author's Homepage   Email Dave Williams   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It all depends on the encryption algorythyms used. Most really good encrytion takes about three weeks to bust. Most of the standard stuff is already broken by hackers, so even if you change the encryption keys, chances are you are open to attack through the back door and won't even know when it happens.

I tend to use the 128 bit encryption that is out there now for financial transactions on the net, and to cover my own stuff here at home, and I rotate the encryption key randomly to keep it fresh. However it is not perfect and is breakable. Luckily no one cares about little ol' me.