Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Ever feel like only you care about presentation quality?

Author Topic: Ever feel like only you care about presentation quality?
Jared Foley
Film Handler

- posted 03-16-2005 06:19 AM      Profile for Jared Foley   Email Jared Foley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm basically new to the cinema industry - I've only been a projectionist for just over three months. I work for a larger chain, and they're building a new 8 screen less than 5 miles from my 6 screen. That means when we need something new, we don't get it.
Alright, so 6 screens, and each one has it's own unique problems. We have nothing fancy - Strong Simplex 1050's with 5-star sound heads. We run stereo sound with multiple speakers, and they never all work. Sound is always horrible in each theatre. Every once in a while all the speakers will work and it sounds great, then they go back out for the next run. This is annoying enough. We also have a great popping and humming coming from one of our two larger auditoriums. The light automation rarely works properly so it's mostly a manual lighting operation.
When I ask for a service tech to come out and look at our units, I'm told that "they just came out a month ago and said everything was fine". This has to be a lie. And if I ever say something to my managers about a problem with a projector, I get a great "oooh...." response, and nothing gets done. It's like me against them.
What is it about these people?? Literally all they care about is making the most money possible; it's NOTHING about quality of the presentation. It's embarrassing to me. I'm also an usher so everytime I walk in another horrible presentation, I'm ashamed to say that I'm the one who's presenting this garbage.