Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Very strange "FBI" spam email (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Very strange "FBI" spam email
Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

- posted 02-26-2005 10:46 PM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We are all used to getting spam and virus emails from phoney addresses which pose as, for instance, "Microsoft support" but are easily revealed as coming from some strange website with a similar sounding name.
But today I got an email from "hostmaster@fbi.gov" which appears to actually come from that address. When I look at the properties of the address, it says the same.
I don't think the FBI would send me an email to my address at a German provider - in German, on top of that, it says "your password was changed, see attachment" - and of course, right on top of their homepage there is a warning about inauthentic "FBI emails" although the scam mentioned there is more of the "we have a few questions, please fill out the attached form" kind.
Is it possible to see where the mail came from? In the header, it says

Return-Path: <Hostmaster@fbi.gov>
X-Flags: 0000
Delivered-To: GMX delivery to  -
Received: (qmail invoked by alias); 27 Feb 2005 01:56:55 -0000
Received: from d-65-175-249-239.metrocast.net (HELO bncrqhc.gov) (65.175.249.239)
by mx0.gmx.net (mx009) with SMTP; 27 Feb 2005 02:56:55 +0100
To: 3Daeaskins@gmx.net
Date: Sun, 27 Feb 2005 01:47:11 GMT
Subject: Ihr Passwort wurde geaendert
Importance: Normal
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Message-ID: <54d0.f53c3ba4bb6d2a@fbi.gov>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="=====685f4eb.81eeb3c445c"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit