Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Photoshop batch re-sizing

Author Topic: Photoshop batch re-sizing
Nate Lehrke
Master Film Handler

- posted 06-11-2003 03:38 AM      Profile for Nate Lehrke   Email Nate Lehrke   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I use Photoshop 7.0 on a MAC with OS 9.2

I have about 90 images that I need to change the size to. I want to do a "batch re-sizing". Meaning, getting all the images resized VERY quickly with next to no effort from me.

How do I do this?? (Assume that I am a novice at using the software.)

[ 06-11-2003, 07:27 PM: Message edited by: Nate Lehrke ]

|  IP: Logged

Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 06-11-2003 04:16 AM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I know next to nothing about Photoshop, but is it really the right tool for this? You might want to look into a command-line tool like 'convert,' which comes with the 'Imagemagick' tools, along with a scripting language. It's designed to run on Unix, but could probably be made to run on Win32 with Cygwin. There might be a native Win32 verion, too. Anyway, a few lines of shell script along with a command-line tool with a resizing function would do what you want in a few seconds.

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 06-11-2003 07:23 AM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
I haven't found anything as good as resizing pictures as Photoshop and I do know it can do batch processing, but I've never done it on Windows. Joe does it frequently on his Mac system. Anyone have specific instructions for doing this?

Randy Stankey
Film God