Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » How do you remember boring mathematical formulas? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: How do you remember boring mathematical formulas?
Paul G. Thompson
The Weenie Man

- posted 03-29-2003 02:49 AM      Profile for Paul G. Thompson   Email Paul G. Thompson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well, seems as though I had problems with advanced mathematics in high school. I could never remember the rules in Geometry, and mathematic formulas.

But when I graduated from high school in Manitowoc, Wisconsin in 1958, I immediately joined the US Navy for electronics training, and eventually served honorably for 20 years and retired.

When I went through the electronics school training, the "dirty mines" of the instructors (eventually I became one to teach vacuum tube theory and the entire radar set AN/APG-51B Radar used in the F3H-2 aircraft,) I remember how to keep formulas in my head. Here is an example:

-

How do you remember formulas? I hope for lots of replys, as my mind is getting feeble, and I still want to remember things so I don't become too obsolete. [Smile] [Big Grin]

|  IP: Logged

Phil Hill
I love my cootie bug

- posted 03-29-2003 03:09 AM      Profile for Phil Hill   Email Phil Hill       Edit/Delete Post 
How about the resistor color code:

"Bad Boys Rape Our Young Girls But Violet Gives Willingly". [evil]

Black = 0, Brown = 1, Red = 2, Orange = 3, Yellow = 4, Green = 5, Blue = 6, Violet = 7, Grey = 8, White = 9.

And of course, who could forget "ELI the ICE" man? As related to inductors and capacitors...

The voltage (E) leads the current (I) in an inductor (L), and the current (I) leads the voltage (E) in a capacitor (C).

OBTW Paul, I used to have a pet frog named "Feeble", but he croaked! [Big Grin]