Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Damn Pentium 4 Chip!

Author Topic: Damn Pentium 4 Chip!
Barry Floyd
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 08-09-2002 01:31 PM      Profile for Barry Floyd   Author's Homepage   Email Barry Floyd   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'll preface this by saying I'm NOT an expert computer builder, but I do know enough to be dangerous on occasions.

Our new house got struck by lighting several weeks ago and it blew out all of the telephone systems and the computers. The smart thing to do would've been to turn it in on my homeowner's insurance, but since computer parts are relatively cheap nowadays, I figured I could save myself a few hundred bucks if I could repair the computer for less than the $500.00 insurance deductable.

I price-out things like the motherboard, and found a SOYO Dragon P4 board on-line for $82.00, then I find a 1.6Ghz P4 chip w/ heatsink and fan for $150.00. Ordered them both and they all arrived on the same day last Friday.

CAREFULLY reading the instructions on "How to mount your P4 processor to the motherboard", it noted in the instructions to "Use the enclosed syringe of heat sink compound" and apply it to the top of the processor. Once mounted in the motherboard, I do just that, and then proceed to mount the Heatsink and fan to the processor and board.

Once it's all mounted up and ready to go I finish completing the rest of the computer, and power it up for the first time. Nothing happens. Try again... nothing happens. I fool with this damn thing for 3 hours before I got frustrated and said "***K it!! - I'm taking this thing to a computer shop".