Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Robbery in Utah (Hosers got hosed) (Page 1)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: Robbery in Utah (Hosers got hosed)
Dave Bird
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 02-12-2002 08:05 AM      Profile for Dave Bird   Author's Homepage   Email Dave Bird   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I must say that I'm not an expert in figure skating, but I am like some of you, an Olympic addict, have been since Lake Placid in '80. The crime was last night at the Ice Center (Delta Center). Good old fashioned "Russian Bloc" judging conspired to relegate probably the finest pairs skate in the history of the Olympics (by Canadians Pelletier & Sale) to SILVER, while the Russian couple kept that country's streak of 11 straight Olympic titles. The crowd knew it, numerous people interviewed like Dorothy Hamill were disgusted, even the "winning couple" knew it.

Never thought I'd speak out on a subject like this, but it's disgusting to learn that coaches have access to judges in practice, openly lobbying in some cases BEFORE the competition. I had trouble sleeping I was so angry. These people dedicate themselves as few of us will ever do, AND last night, they were perfect.

It's pre-judging is pretty obvious though, there was an American couple who were not expected to do much (Ina & Zimmerman). They turned in the performance of their lives, nearly flawless, 5th or 6th they ended up. They deserved silver, bronze at least. But they skated early, and the commentators at the time said that their skate was worthy of a medal at that point, but that the "big guns" were much later, and the Americans were doomed to be forgotten. And of course they were, a sidenote-story that will be forgotten in light of the more glaring theft of the gold.