Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » "MANAGERS"

Author Topic: "MANAGERS"
Manuel Francisco Valencia
Expert Film Handler

- posted 01-05-2001 11:38 PM      Profile for Manuel Francisco Valencia   Email Manuel Francisco Valencia   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I know the title of the subject didn't really help in letting you guys know on what exactly it is that I want to hear from you about, but basically anything you guys want to say about managers feel free.

Being a manager I believe that you should be able to perform any task necessary in order for your theatre to operate properly, but I have heard that there are some theatres that designate managers to certain areas, and they do it to an extreme. In my theatre there are managers for box office, concession, and everything else but that really only comes into play on orders, thurs. inventory, training, maintenance, etc. Other than that you are where you are needed. I know that some theatres have their box manager stay in box, concession manager stay in concession, so son and so on. I know that these theatres are doing the business to have all these managers on duty but a manager should still be able to perform duties wherever. Some managers will throw a fit if asked to help out in some other area. Is there anybody here that has a theatre like this and if so does it inhibit operation in any way?

|  IP: Logged

Paul G. Thompson
The Weenie Man

- posted 01-06-2001 12:57 AM      Profile for Paul G. Thompson   Email Paul G. Thompson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sometimes there are too many Chiefs and not enough Indians.

I hope your organization is not as bad as Washington State's Road maintenance crew. Six supervisors supervising one worker painting a guard rail.

Randy Stankey
Film God