Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » What happens when movies open early in the week?

Author Topic: What happens when movies open early in the week?
Sarah Treichel
Film Handler

- posted 05-17-2019 11:26 AM      Profile for Sarah Treichel   Email Sarah Treichel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have been lurking a while, but this is my first post. I am a total noob to the movie theater business and I have a massively noob-type question. How do you handle it when you have a movie booked for a particular playweek Fri-Thu and your next film opens on Tuesday? I do the booking for our little two-screen cinema and I'm wondering what will happen if I've got two movies showing 6/28 through 7/4, but Spider-Man opens on 7/2.

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 05-17-2019 01:22 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You just tell the outgoing movie's studio that you are opening the new movie on Tuesday. They may or may not be OK with the short week.....most of the time they'll be OK with it, considering the bulk of the business happens on the weekend. They would rather take a short week than lose a booking altogether.

The big thing is, don't just end the other movie without informing the studio. As long as they know what you're doing you should be fine.

Mark Lane
Film Handler

- posted 06-05-2019 03:03 PM      Profile for Mark Lane   Email Mark Lane   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We too are opening Spiderman on Tuesday.
You have likely told the studio of the movie you are playing before Spiderman that they will have a clean screen. You risk your relationship with the studio if you don't honor your word.