Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » New screen advice needed

Author Topic: New screen advice needed
Travis Cape
Expert Film Handler

- posted 10-12-2017 05:25 PM      Profile for Travis Cape   Email Travis Cape   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am attempting to help someone reopen a theater in the Midwest. The plan is to run a mix of commercial, art and classics. Among the many issues to resolve is installing a new screen.

The existing screen is a Hurley Superoptica. The tag shows it to be 22'6" x 50'. The screen has an approx. 6 ft depth of curve and is currently laced. It appears the screen is made of 1" unistrut.

The room is 60' wide and 90' deep and has 425 seats with side aisles.

I have zero experience with this much of a curve. Everyone that I have spoken with has an entirely conflicting option about screen type and how to hang it.

The theater will have digital installed, but will not be showing 3D. It will also continue to have 35mm capability as the owner has a film collection and the equipment is already there and functional.

Also, advice on an installer would be appreciated.

Thanks Travis

|  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 10-12-2017 07:20 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The most experienced screen installers I know is Franklin Designs. They are also insured as I once found out when they tore a 60K dollar screen. I have used them a lot over the years and zero problems. There are no doubt many others out there too.

Franklin Designs

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.

- posted 10-12-2017 09:56 PM      Profile for Adam Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Martin       Edit/Delete Post