Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Should we join NATO

Author Topic: Should we join NATO
Celine Negrete
Film Handler

- posted 10-23-2010 04:06 PM      Profile for Celine Negrete   Author's Homepage   Email Celine Negrete   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So, we are a single-screen (62-seat) arthouse in rural Northern California. I have been trying to find out the cost of becoming a member of NATO by searching their website and have been unable to find it.

Does anyone know what it costs? And...more importantly, would we benefit from membership? I am new to all of this!

Thanks!

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 10-23-2010 05:16 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We've been a NATO member for many years. I'm not sure what the dues are but I'll look it up tonight when I get to work. The minimum is either $100 or $150 for a single screen.

Membership benefits? You will find a lot of negativity toward NATO on this forum. To me it's better if you think of the things they do for the industry as a whole (watching out for stupid new rules from the state and governments, especially) rather than yourself specifically. I can tell you they've helped squash dopey new censorship laws and "soda taxes" here in Montana on multiple occasions.

Celine Negrete
Film Handler

- posted 10-23-2010 06:24 PM      Profile for Celine Negrete   Author's Homepage   Email Celine Negrete   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks for the info! One reason why I was considering it was because I was considering attending CinemaCon next year and the cost is lower for NATO members.