Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Becoming a general manager (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Becoming a general manager
Manny Montes
Master Film Handler

- posted 04-03-2010 01:08 AM      Profile for Manny Montes   Email Manny Montes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So, Here's the issue. I'm currently a college student studying hospitality administration, through our studies I'm realizing that even the "hard" stuff is basically what I've learned from this industry in the past 3 years of working for it. A lot of people are saying that I'm a prodigy (jokingly of course), I know that if a first assistant position opened I would apply for it and probably get it, and then hopefully move on to a GM position.

I was wondering if anyone has/is a GM or 1st assistant at a Regal location, if they could tell me if it's worth it or if they regret anything. I know some things may be confidential but I'm having a hard time deciding if I want to continue with college or continue with a career in the industry.

I know what the job entails (especially for first assistant) but I'm just wondering if the pay is decent, etc.

|  IP: Logged

Jeremy Weigel
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 04-03-2010 02:20 AM      Profile for Jeremy Weigel   Email Jeremy Weigel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Its been almost 10 years since I worked for Regal, but as first assistant the pay really sucked (21k /yr gross) compared to what my GM was making plus commissions (65k+ /yr gross). And you're basically doing everything the GM does, especially when the GM is on vacation. Just my 2 cents.

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 04-03-2010 04:00 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post