Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Film Preservation school...HELP! (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Film Preservation school...HELP!
Allison Parsons
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 11-11-2004 11:35 PM      Profile for Allison Parsons   Author's Homepage   Email Allison Parsons   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everyone. I'm not sure if this topic should be in the ground level section but.. I need your help. I am very interested in attending the L. Jeffery Selznick school of Film Preservation next year in New York. I applied last year and got rejected (they only accept about 12 people per year) Now...I have over 8 years of film experience under my belt. My question to everyone is:
1)Does anyone know anyone who attended this school? If so, how did they like it/where are they work at now.
2) Does anyone know any helpful hits they can give me to get accepted. Like I said, if 8 years of film work can't get me in... Maybe my cover letter just sucked (?)
3) Is this a career that I should be interested in. I am VERY interested in it already but I fear there aren't too many places for film preservationist around the world... And how good is the pay (not that it really matters but i'm just curious to know)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! [Cool]

|  IP: Logged

Steve Kraus
Film God

- posted 11-12-2004 07:10 AM      Profile for Steve Kraus     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sorry no help but preservation of the moving image is a topic I and certainly others here are very interested in so please keep us posted on your progress. As you may know Robert Harris, one of the best known in the preservation field sometimes posts here on F-T (See also his Digital Bits column.