Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » best showtime for matinees?

Author Topic: best showtime for matinees?
Rick Meister
Film Handler

- posted 04-01-2003 12:15 AM      Profile for Rick Meister   Email Rick Meister   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A friend of mine told me to try sunday matinees , that even in the towns that he has that are small they really do well.I have been doing this now for about 2 months and the attendance is not paying for the expenses most of the time. I was wondering if any of you have an opinion on the show time? We have the matinee at 4pm. would moving it to a different time do better?
I would just try it but I have learned from managing a store that no one ever learns your hrs,so don't want to confuse the customers I have now. We always get lots of calls on what time do u close at the store. That's why my show tim,es are set in the evening at 7:30 and 9:30 always.any opinion ?

|  IP: Logged

David Favel
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 04-01-2003 03:20 AM      Profile for David Favel   Email David Favel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
9.30 is quite late, can you put a 5.30 on?
We find that in a small town where people are finished work at 5 - 5.30 it can be a very popular time.

You may have to swap sessions as here 4.00 on a Sunday is the ideal spot to put MBFGW. 2.00 is our matinee.

Have you defined who is your target market?
We found our markets through trial & error. We started in a neglected cinema that was ranked at the very bottom of the whole country & are now out performing a every similar market in the country.
Have faith, love your job & your enthusiasm will infect your patrons.

Lotsa luck

Kara J. McVay
Film Handler