Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Leasing Lg Format Prints

Author Topic: Leasing Lg Format Prints
Jan Hackett
Expert Film Handler

- posted 05-15-2002 10:33 AM      Profile for Jan Hackett   Email Jan Hackett   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ok... I am new to the Large format world having emerged from the world of 16mm and 35mm progection. To show a print at my museum we have to purchase the print (some 15,000) and then pay a minimum guarentee and a perhead fee. With 35mm it was a percentage share most going to distributer....Question is it possible to lease a lg format print even a used one that we would not have to purchase? It is a pain having to find a sponser for our showings and it limits us to fewer shows per year. I want more variety. How could I make this happen???

------------------
Jan Hackett
Theater Operations Manager
Extreme Screen Dynatheater
NM Museum of Natural History Foundation

|  IP: Logged

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.

- posted 05-15-2002 11:08 AM      Profile for Adam Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Martin       Edit/Delete Post 
Disney large format still uses the conventional lease with Disney retaining ownership of the print. nWave may be doing the same, but I'm not sure. Most everyone else in LF will require you to purchase the print outright, but you might look around for someone who has played the film and is looking to sell their print used. The distributor should know who has a print available for sale.

However, used 8/70 prints may be hard to come by, as it is not yet as widely used as 15/70 (but it's growing).

Dick Vaughan
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 05-15-2002 04:04 PM      Profile for Dick Vaughan   Author's Homepage   Email Dick Vaughan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Adam