Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Hello nice to meet you, would you help me with a few questions? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Hello nice to meet you, would you help me with a few questions?
Marc Syp
Film Handler

- posted 04-22-2002 11:09 AM      Profile for Marc Syp   Email Marc Syp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 

Hey everyone.

I just registered for the forums and I look forward to hearing from all of you. I've been a lot of the informative topics and I'm thrilled to have come across this great resource (i.e., all of you).

I am actually an indie filmmaker in St. Louis, MO, but I'm thinking of opening a small alternative cinema theater in town. It seems like most (if not all) of you are very experienced with classic cinema venues (auditorium, stadium seating, 35mm, etc.), but I am sure that you can also help me with my tiny little theatre.

I want to take a historic building and turn it into a one screen theater with a full bar. I'm talking about a very relaxed atmosphere in which there is some table seating and some row seating. I'd like to be able to fit a good 50-80 seats in the showing room and still have good space for transit, cocktail waiters/waitresses, etc.

I know that it can be hard in some markets to maintain a one-screen theater, but this would be a little different. The primary focus is the films but it is also very much a place to socialize and make merry. I guess you could think of it as a cross between a B-movie brew 'n' view and a one-screen art house.

My first question... would this be considered a theatrical or a non-theatrical venue?