Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Rialto at One Year.

Author Topic: Rialto at One Year.
Ian Price
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 01-14-2001 02:58 PM      Profile for Ian Price   Email Ian Price   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Our theatre the Rialto Cinemas Lakeside has been open for one year.

Ky and I had talked about opening a movie theatre for about 18 years. I never placed much credence to these conversations. I have heard all manner of people talk about doing all sorts of things. I worked in the cinema business so I could send him things like theatre year-end profit and loss spreadsheets. Meanwhile, I learned how to run a theatre and run a projection booth.

Two years ago I thought he was a little rash to quit his job at a hospital 12 blocks from his house that paid him the most he had ever been paid, in order to look for a theatre full time. To tell you the truth, I was starting a new career myself. Things were looking up. I was gaining responsibility and respect. I was being paid more than I had ever been paid in my life. I was having fun flying to new and interesting places I had never been to before, like Alaska in December and Laredo in July.

Ky called and told me that he had entered into lease negotiations for a property in Santa Rosa. I wished him luck and got a copy of the lease. A commercial lease is scarier than a contract to buy a house. I was not encouraged.

Ky signed the lease and told me when the opening date was. I sent him all of my money and quit my job. Such was my faith in Ky and what we expect in friendship.

We opened the theatre on time on January 14, 2000. The first month was very encouraging. We had record crowds.