Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Hired at Regal Sacramento- should I take it? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Hired at Regal Sacramento- should I take it?
Jesse Skeen
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 08-30-2000 12:12 AM      Profile for Jesse Skeen   Email Jesse Skeen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've been working at a 6-plex in Davis for nine years now, having started out on floor staff and have been a projectionist since late 1992. During that time I've gotten full experience with booth operation and can run and make up films at least as well as any union operator; in fact sometimes I've been known to be more picky than some union people. I could use a little more technical experience but that's mostly due to the union people there keeping everything in shape. I'm sure I could do more if I HAD to though.
While they've treated me pretty well there, I've been itching to move on to someplace bigger so I applied at the Regal Natomas 16 theater in Sacramento which opened a year ago. While I know the company is in trouble, this theater has been doing rather well- it's the only theater in its area so it gets almost every film that comes out. I figure the worst that could happen would that they'd sell it to someone else, it's certainly not going to close anytime soon.
I'm going to be in charge of the projection booth full-time there (if I take the job), right now the most experienced person they've got up there is a kid who can only work 20 hours a week because he's going to school; I was impressed with his knowledge and attitude and certainly has a decent amount of experience, but the rest of the people they have running the booth I hear haven't been that great, and they can certainly use me.