Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film Handlers' Movie Reviews   » The BFG

Author Topic: The BFG
Stu Jamieson
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 07-09-2016 05:56 PM      Profile for Stu Jamieson   Email Stu Jamieson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm almost a complete noob when it comes to Roald Dahl. I didn't experience a Dahl childhood; his literature did not have a presence in our household. My only experience of his work was Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971) which I loved, and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1968) for which he wrote the screenplay and which I liked much less.

My only experience of a "BFG" was the BFG9000, a weapon found in the Doom and Quake video games using an acronym which implied words that ought not be uttered by a child. Given Roald Dahl's twisted mind, I would be unsurprised to learn that he was well aware of this possible interpretation when he released his book about a "Big Friendly Giant" in 1982.

An animated TV version of The BFG was released in the late 80's but this time around Steven Spielberg has turned his acumen to a live action version starring the remarkable Ruby Barnhill as orphan child, Sophie, who befriends the "BFG", a motion captured computer generated Mark Rylance.

Given his sterling performance in Bridge of Spies, Rylance appears to be becoming a male muse, of sorts, to Spielberg and understandably so. His performance in The BFG is as measured and understated as Spielberg's prior spy biopic. Newcomer, Ruby Barnhill, is also a revelation, displaying a manner of nonprecocious confidence and sass rarely found in a child actor.