Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film Handlers' Movie Reviews   » AVP : Alien Vs. Predator (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: AVP : Alien Vs. Predator
Chris Hipp
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 08-13-2004 03:12 AM      Profile for Chris Hipp   Email Chris Hipp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This was better than I was expecting, as long as you do not take it seriously.

I am not a scientist but I dont think that you can just go outside in the middle of the night in Antarctica and not freeze to death without special gear. These guys are just wearing regular coats. If anyone has been to Antarctica please correct me if I am wrong.

Also, when she shot up that tunnel really fast she would have died shortly after from decompression sickness. Many people died building the Brooklynn bridge because they came up to the surface too fast.

Last, the ending feels just like FvJ

|  IP: Logged

Greg Routenburg
Expert Film Handler

- posted 08-13-2004 03:46 AM      Profile for Greg Routenburg   Email Greg Routenburg   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I must say, I was pleasently surprised. I'm not a huge fan of either the Alien or Predator franchises but I think they pulled this one off. The effects were nicely done and they stayed true to the nature of both species, at least as best I can remember them. If you're in Ontario or any part of Canada that uses Ontario ratings as a guide, don't let the PG rating turn you away, frankly I'm surprised that it came in less then 18A. For more information on Ontario's rating system visit www.ofrb.gov.on.ca

Michael Gonzalez
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 08-13-2004 07:40 PM      Profile for Michael Gonzalez   Email Michael Gonzalez   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post