Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » New Theater Tech looking for some direction

Author Topic: New Theater Tech looking for some direction
Jesse Istre
Film Handler

- posted 11-11-2019 08:20 AM      Profile for Jesse Istre   Email Jesse Istre   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,
I have been working as a tech for about 4 months. I come from an IT background. I was somewhat hastily thrust into this position and only received about a week's training. The rest I sort of learned on the job. We have a mixture of equipment. Mostly GDC and NEC though.

My question is, can anyone direct me to some sort of advanced training material? Management and corporate have been impressed with my performance and adaptability considering the lack of experience. They want to invest in me and have me receive additional training.

Thanks.

|  IP: Logged

Mark Strube
Master Film Handler

- posted 11-11-2019 04:34 PM      Profile for Mark Strube   Author's Homepage   Email Mark Strube   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It sounds like you've been thrown into a sort of "head of projection" position for one location? I'm assuming since you mention "corporate" that your theater does employ a technical services company for major troubleshooting, maintenance, and installs? Or are all the technicians internal?

Note: this should probably be in the Digital Cinema Forum as I see no reference to film in your post.

Leo Enticknap
Film God

- posted 11-11-2019 08:46 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post