Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » DCP Hard Drive Readability Issues with Venu

Author Topic: DCP Hard Drive Readability Issues with Venu
Brian Rose
Film Handler

- posted 10-29-2019 12:52 PM      Profile for Brian Rose   Email Brian Rose   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi All!

I'm a filmmaker and I make my own DCPs. I use OpenDCP for the creation, and then I put my files on a Linux EXT2 formatted hard drive. Most of the time this process has worked without fail. But almost inevitably, a few complaints crop up, and they are always: "I can't read your hard drive, can you bring another." This gets frustrating after a while because most of the complainants are venues of, shall we say, less than stellar quality, with operators who have questionable skills. I oblige them and create a new drive and all, but it gets to be tiresome.

I'm now dealing with a venue complaining my drive doesn't show anything on it, so I'm going to make them a new drive. This one previously screened at the Gene Siskel center without issue, so I'm pretty sure it's a problem on their end. But is there anything I could be doing to head off issues like this in the future? Should I try formatting in another version of Linux, or is it a folder/naming convention?

Any advice you all might have would be deeply appreciated!

BR

|  IP: Logged

Harold Hallikainen
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 10-29-2019 02:02 PM      Profile for Harold Hallikainen   Author's Homepage   Email Harold Hallikainen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The ISDCF recommendations for distribution drives are at https://isdcf.com/papers/ISDCF-Doc3-Delivery-Recs.pdf .

Harold

Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)