Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » DCI Longevity (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: DCI Longevity
Brandon Belote
Film Handler

- posted 03-08-2019 08:33 PM      Profile for Brandon Belote   Author's Homepage   Email Brandon Belote   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all.
My name is Brandon and I am a technician at a one-screen theater in Michigan. We mostly screen first-run indie cinema and the theater is managed by a college (they're not experienced with theater management).

Administration has been asking about longevity of the DCI equipment so they can budget for replacement. I'm not very experienced with the lifetime of DCI gear so I wonder if anyone here would like to provide experienced feedback.

We are running a Barco DP2K-12C with IMB and ShowVault. Dolby CP750. Barco and Dolby units were installed 2011 and IMB/ShowVault 2014.

I could see the CP750 or ShowVault going down. The Barco is more complicated. I don't think whole projector would need replacement. It's xenon lamp and 2K, but I don't imagine DCI compliance will cut those. Seems more likely the ICP, CCB, IMB, key pad or internal components would fail (mirror system or power supply?). Wondering if anyone has seen these units go down and might know lifetime or usual causes for failure.

We run movies six days a week, probably 50-55 hours of lamp time. Regular maintenance every month, minimal dust buildup. Barco is pretty clean.

Thanks much.

|  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

- posted 03-09-2019 02:51 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post