Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Mixing room speakers, information about Hornspeakers (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Mixing room speakers, information about Hornspeakers
Chris Erkal
Film Handler

- posted 12-09-2018 08:23 AM      Profile for Chris Erkal   Email Chris Erkal   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello!
I'm new here - and in the whole film scene. I have a background of a self taught mixer (of audio for music, radio plays and installative pieces) who is into his first feature film.
It's an independent production, I've also done set tone/boom, part of the sound design and score.
I mix for 5.1.

We have checked a small piece of the movie as a dcp test in a smaller cinema here in Düsseldorf, Germany.

Levelwise, localization and general "fit" were good, I just experienced the way the speakers transmitted the sound, especially the dialogue, a bit "off". I didn't check yet which brands and models they used but these were def. horn speakers, which I've read about often in the context of cinemas.
The dialogue lacked a bit of clarity (not intelligibility), they didn't sound super muffled, some consonants and esses were a bit harsh, but especially right below the highs I experienced a little peak. Maybe at 7kHz starting the Highs rolled of a bit, they weren't super present, compared to memories of other movies I got in this theatre.

I do my main work on active Yamaha Speakers (Hs 80m) and can check sporadically on Genelec 1032 and a BlueSky System in a treated room. It's nice to figure out room modes and general balancing.