Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Isle of Dogs DCP aspect ratio

Author Topic: Isle of Dogs DCP aspect ratio
Max M. Fuhlendorf
Film Handler

- posted 07-30-2018 05:25 PM      Profile for Max M. Fuhlendorf   Email Max M. Fuhlendorf   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi.

I work as a projectionist in Brazil. Yesterday I went to see the new Wes Anderson movie, Isle of Dogs and it was horrible. Almost all arthouse screens around here are 2.35:1, with no masking on the sides. The film, according to IMDb, was shot in scope, and it was shown as a scope frame inside a flat 1998x1080 container, with portuguese subtitles kept inside the lower black bar; as such, the film was horribly windowboxed, with almost 45% of the screen area left empty;

I was furious assuming a gross projection error, but upon complaining to the manager was told that it was the film's intended exhibition aspect ratio, including the black bars. I didn't believe the manager as they often know very little about projection standards, and contacted the Warner/Fox joint-venture that distributes the film here. They replied that the manager was correct, and that it was the director's decision (I'm assuming they meant Wes Anderson) that it should be shown this way, a scope frame letterboxed inside a flat container, not only in Brazil but all around the world. These are the official instructions (in portuguese, but you can clearly see the CPL name with FLAT outlined in blue:  -

Does anyone who has seen the film or projected it can confirm this? I find it VERY weird that Anderson would choose this; he is known for playing with multiple aspect ratios in the same film, but in this case the whole film was done in scope, I see no reason why this should be so .

Thanks in advance!
[Confused]

|  IP: Logged