Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » projection advice (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: projection advice
Armand Daiguillon
Film Handler

- posted 06-30-2018 03:49 PM      Profile for Armand Daiguillon   Email Armand Daiguillon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all,

I need some of your super knowledgeable advice.
I was a booth tech and then a theatre manager for many years.
I am now planning to open up a theatre, but building from scratch in the digital cinema age
is not as easy as i'd like.

I'm planning on making small auditoriums, (48 seats) approx dimension are 23W x 45L.
My first question is regarding the projectors - i'm planning on using Barco DP2k-6E projectors.
The Barco supplier claims these are quiet enough to not need to be in a separate booth.
They say that with the cinema server that it comes with I can mount it from the ceiling within the auditorium
and run it remotely via LAN connection from a PC.
So, first question ...does that sound feasible ?
Is it really quiet enough to be ceiling mounted within the auditorium?

And can I truly run everything remotely? And never have to touch the unit once hung ?

Second question, regarding sight lines and height...
The ceilings/walls are 11 feet high (might be able to get another foot if remove ceiling tiles..but for now say 11 feet)
If my first row is located at ground height 10 feet from the screen - how close to the ground can the screen extend ?

In this scenario the projector is mounted 30 feet from screen.
Its these screen dimensions im strugling with. I'm concerned that if someone tall sits in front row I dont want to see their head shadow on the screen.

Also is 30 feet a safe/proper distance for the projector ?