Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Subtitles on series 1 projectors.

   
Author Topic: Subtitles on series 1 projectors.
Stephen Furley
Film God

Posts: 3057
From: Coulsdon, Croydon, England
Registered: May 2002


 - posted 06-07-2018 09:50 AM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How do subtitles work on series 1 projectors? Are they rendered by the projector or the server? If the projector, how are they transmitted from the server to the projector, as metadata embedded in one of the SDI streams or over the Ethernet?

Could an Ethernet problem cause subtitles to freeze, or disappear?

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 12210
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999


 - posted 06-07-2018 10:14 AM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It is via Ethernet.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephen Furley
Film God

Posts: 3057
From: Coulsdon, Croydon, England
Registered: May 2002


 - posted 06-07-2018 10:30 AM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thank you, problem found and fixed I think, need to do some tests after this afternoon's film comes off to be sure.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephan Shelley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 700
From: castro valley, CA, usa
Registered: Nov 2014


 - posted 06-07-2018 02:52 PM      Profile for Stephan Shelley   Email Stephan Shelley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
One other thing with S1 subtitles is to make sure your TI software is at the lasted that was made. 15.1.52. This should enable SMPTE subtitles with some limitations.

 |  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

Posts: 7042
From: Loma Linda, CA
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 06-07-2018 09:30 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The Doremi DCP2000 with the Dolphin media block either can or does render them in the server, and send the image to the projector as if it was a FR-en DCP rather than FR-EN (for example). I'm a little hazy on the details, and I don't know if any other Series 1 media block has this feature.

As well as the TI firmware, the server's software needs to be up to date to ensure as much compatibility with SMPTE subtitles as the Series 1 hardware will allow, too.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3780
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 06-08-2018 07:29 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Stephan Shelley
One other thing with S1 subtitles is to make sure your TI software is at the lasted that was made. 15.1.52. This should enable SMPTE subtitles with some limitations.
I thought SMPTE subtitles were an absolute NoGo with series 1 machines? Do you know what these limitations are?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

Posts: 7042
From: Loma Linda, CA
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 06-08-2018 08:24 AM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I can't now remember the details. I believe that the use of multiple subtitle fonts within a CPL, bold, italic, etc. will not work on a Series 1 TI, that some non-ASCII characters won't display (e.g. accented characters), and that there is a limit on the number of characters per line. Not sure if encrypted subtitles in SMPTE DCPs will work on a Series 1 system, even with current software and firmware.

A couple of years ago I had a Greek SMPTE DCP that wouldn't work on a DSS200/cat862 and an NC2500 (all had the current software and firmware). About halfway through the movie, the subtitles just disappeared, and no more subtitles would appear until the TI was rebooted. This behavior was consistent in repeated playbacks. When I later tried the DCP on a Series 2 system, I saw that on the system with the fault, the subtitles disappeared just before a line that contained a word in untransliterated Greek characters. I'm guessing that those characters crashed the TI's subtitle rendering engine.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3780
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 06-08-2018 09:18 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I found this firmware on MyBarco:

---
Series 1 release 15.01 Release adds and fixes the following issues:
SMPTE (428-7) Subtitle Support Added
SMPTE (430-11) Presentation List Support Added
updated for latest SMPTE 428-7
Image error causes overlaping text fixed
em Sufix is optional in Space, Size, Offset attributes
SMPTE (428-7) Subtitle Positioning Support Added
Preliminary RTL support Added
Panorama Integrated for RTL support
FontFusion 5.0 Integrated for Panorma
Font attribute change in Super/Sub script
Ruby text in RTL
Italic RTL text truncation problem Fixed
Multiple shadow colors in RTL
Mixing shadow/border in a line in RTL
Char spacing in RTL
Aspect adjust/Anamorphic Scaling in RTL
Last few pixels cut in RTL text with some fonts fixed
For RTL text, shadow and Italic are towards lef
Huge Font size text causes memory leak. Fixed
---

Now, even if it is not 100% stable for all content, it is at least an option.

Encrypted SMPTE DCP aspects should all be handled by the Server, if it can unwrap encrypted SMPTE MXF subtitles, which most servers on most recent software now can (even DSS100). Yes, of course, a Cinelink II/TLS supporting processing board (if necessary with a successful certificate recovery) is a prerequisite as well.

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

Posts: 7042
From: Loma Linda, CA
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 06-08-2018 06:19 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Agreed that if the software and firmware is all up to date in everything, most subtitled DCPs will play OK on a typical Series 1 system; but there is an element of risk. When I was using a Series 1 system in an arthouse setting that probably played around 50 to 100 subtitled DCPs a year, once everything was updated, I'd guess that we had significant subtitle problems with about 5% of them.

I would advise anyone contemplating playing a subtitled DCP on a Series 1 system to a paying audience that a full rehearsal screening of the entire movie, and having backup media (e.g. a BD) available are essential, not optional precautions. As that Greek DCP demonstrated, the subtitles can suddenly disappear in the middle of the movie.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.