Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » CRU vs. FTP ingest on Doremi

Author Topic: CRU vs. FTP ingest on Doremi
Biraj Thakuri
Film Handler

- posted 04-30-2018 05:06 AM      Profile for Biraj Thakuri   Email Biraj Thakuri   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey everyone.

I have been working on doremi showvault server for a couple of months. I ingest new features every Thursday and I wanted to know which is the most fastest and reliable way of ingesting between CRU drive, FTP and USB drive. Also what is the maximum speed of them.

Any suggestions and info will be appreciated.

|  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

- posted 04-30-2018 06:06 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Depends on the scenario,

USB is usually the slowest method. However, recently ShowVaults come with a new 'X10' revision Mainboard that offers a USB3.0 connection. If you have such a recent ShowVault, your USB ingest speed may be on par with CRU or FTP.
You probably already experienced that ingest is extremely slow when the server is currently playing.

Regarding FTP - you don't get features on FTP-capable ingest media, so, if you ingest something though FTP, it will most likely have been copied to a network drive, NAS, another server, etc. That copy process takes time as well, so, even if FTP ingest as such would be faster, depending on the situation, you would need to factor in the preceeding copy operation. If you use multiple ShowVault servers, a mixed method is often used, CRU-ingest on one server, then FTP from there to the other servers.

- Carsten

Dave Macaulay
Film God

- posted 04-30-2018 06:07 AM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post