Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Subtitles cutting off (Page 1)

 
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Author Topic: Subtitles cutting off
Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 10:52 AM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Bottom half of subtitles are being cut off. Movie is 4K scope. When I play the movie in 2K scope, subs are fine. It's not the cropping. I removed any just to see. All the macro settings are exactly the same for 2K and 4K scope except for the source file obviously. Projector is a Christie CP4220. Server is GDC SX-3000. When I put up the safe image test pattern, the subs that are cut off are down in the red area, outside the safe image area.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephan Shelley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 615
From: castro valley, CA, usa
Registered: Nov 2014


 - posted 02-17-2018 11:25 AM      Profile for Stephan Shelley   Email Stephan Shelley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Are you sure it is a 4K DCP? It is a common problem to have subtitles of a 2K DCP in the wrong place when playing back in a 4K macro.

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 12:20 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've seen that too. It says 4K on the DCP and the information tab on the GDC has it as 4096 X 1716.

 |  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

Posts: 2035
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: Apr 2001


 - posted 02-17-2018 12:35 PM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
haven't tried a 4K Christie but I believe Barco 4K needs a 4K scope PCF to position 4K scope DCP subtitles correctly.

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 12:54 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Tried it. Still no good. I'm just going to run it in 2K for now. BTW, while in 4k macro, all trailer's subtitles played fine. It was only the feature that the subs are cut off.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephan Shelley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 615
From: castro valley, CA, usa
Registered: Nov 2014


 - posted 02-17-2018 02:21 PM      Profile for Stephan Shelley   Email Stephan Shelley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
What PCF are you using or if not using a PCF what screen file.

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 02:36 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm using a 4096 X 1716 2.39 Scope screen file but I also tried switching to a DC4K_DCDM_XYZ_239 PCF file. There was no change.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephan Shelley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 615
From: castro valley, CA, usa
Registered: Nov 2014


 - posted 02-17-2018 02:53 PM      Profile for Stephan Shelley   Email Stephan Shelley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You could try auto square pixels screen file or the auto PCF if there is one.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3582
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 02-17-2018 02:59 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is this an interop DCP? You may transfer one of the subtitle folders xml files to a computer and check the positioning metadata. That should tell you wether it's equipment, or DCP related. If you say that the titles are in the red area, that area SHOULD still contain visible image content. So, if the titles are cut off there, it must be the cropping or the masking (or the lens setting)?! Yes, maybe the subtitle positioning for this feature may be a bit sharp. I assume that where the subtitles are cut off, you can see no image content as well?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 03:47 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Correct, no image at all where the subs are cut off. Projector masking (cropping) is off.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3582
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 02-17-2018 04:26 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If cropping is off, how can there be red in the test chart where the subs are cut off?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 04:38 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The subs are cut off right where the safe image ends outside of the scope area on the pattern.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3582
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 02-17-2018 06:33 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Don't know that specific test pattern - usually, the 'safe area' is well within the visible image area. If that red border in your test clip is actually outside of the 2048*858/4096*1716 scope frame, than they are indeed positioned too low, and that red area is an 'invisible area'.

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1027
From: Floral Park, NY USA
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-17-2018 06:54 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Correct. The red area should have no content. Too bad I don't have another 4K movie with subs. I will just run it in 2K for now.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3582
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 02-17-2018 07:32 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The SX-3000 should have it's own server-side subtitle engine. Do you know wether the SX-3000, or the Christie is configured to render the subtitles?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.