Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » How to troubleshoot DCP wont play

   
Author Topic: How to troubleshoot DCP wont play
David Buckley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 522
From: Oxford, N. Canterbury, New Zealand
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:00 AM      Profile for David Buckley   Author's Homepage   Email David Buckley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Barco DP2K-6E, integrated ICMP, the DCP and key ingested OK, on the content list the movie shows with a green tick, the key is in time range, the clock is right, the <ContentTitleText> tag matches the filename. Once can load the movie into the player OK, but when one presses play, the error message "no valid key found cannot play" appears. And obviously the movie doesn't play.

How can I figure this out?

 |  IP: Logged

Bradley J Sime
Film Handler

Posts: 54
From: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Registered: Apr 2016


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:02 AM      Profile for Bradley J Sime   Author's Homepage   Email Bradley J Sime       Edit/Delete Post 
The key and content match? You've double checked?

 |  IP: Logged

David Buckley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 522
From: Oxford, N. Canterbury, New Zealand
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:10 AM      Profile for David Buckley   Author's Homepage   Email David Buckley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Checked as far as I can; the DCP filename matches the filename in the email the key came in, the name in the file is the same, the serial numbers match our documentation from the installation, the time limits s are good, the clock is right. it's an _OV. I can't think of anything more to check.

 |  IP: Logged

Bradley J Sime
Film Handler

Posts: 54
From: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Registered: Apr 2016


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:15 AM      Profile for Bradley J Sime   Author's Homepage   Email Bradley J Sime       Edit/Delete Post 
Hmm weird. I'd call technicolour/deluxe or whoever it is that distributes your keys. If it's a key issue, it's something on their end, not yours.

 |  IP: Logged

Frank Cox
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1975
From: Melville Saskatchewan Canada
Registered: Apr 2011


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:17 AM      Profile for Frank Cox   Author's Homepage   Email Frank Cox   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My next step would be to delete the key and reingest it and see if that fixes the problem. If not, then delete and reingest both the key and the feature and see if that fixes the problem.

You can also inspect the key using a text editor on your computer to see if it looks normal with the correct serial number and filenames and such.

 |  IP: Logged

Bradley J Sime
Film Handler

Posts: 54
From: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Registered: Apr 2016


 - posted 02-16-2018 12:18 AM      Profile for Bradley J Sime   Author's Homepage   Email Bradley J Sime       Edit/Delete Post 
That's a great idea.

 |  IP: Logged

Stephan Shelley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 700
From: castro valley, CA, usa
Registered: Nov 2014


 - posted 02-16-2018 01:12 AM      Profile for Stephan Shelley   Email Stephan Shelley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You might have to send Deluxe the ICMP's certificate. There have been times that they have the wrong certificate attached to the serial number.

 |  IP: Logged

David Buckley
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 522
From: Oxford, N. Canterbury, New Zealand
Registered: Aug 2004


 - posted 02-16-2018 03:45 AM      Profile for David Buckley   Author's Homepage   Email David Buckley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
And.... deleting and re-ingesting the key appears to have made it work.

This does not make good sense.

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 12209
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999


 - posted 02-16-2018 06:45 AM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A lot of things in DCinema world don't make good sense. Deleting/reinstalling can clear problems if the original ingesting didn't put all of the bits and pieces where they belong.

Do you know what version of ICMP software you are running?

 |  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

Posts: 7040
From: Loma Linda, CA
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 02-16-2018 09:17 AM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Check the UUID of the CPL against the one for which the KDM is written. That will tell you definitively if the KDM is for the correct version of the DCP. The KDM XML file will also tell you the serial of the media block for which it's written, so you can check that, too.

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 12209
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999


 - posted 02-16-2018 10:06 AM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Leo...he said he deleted the KDM and reingested and now it works. If it was a UUID problem, he'd still have a non-playable.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3779
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 02-16-2018 10:33 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
David, how did you ingest that key - from a USB or network ingest source, or through your browser's drag'ndrop feature?

Nothing specific here, though, some ICMP software versions do show minor glitches here and there, and some procedures may cause more issues than others. Not typical though from my experience with the ICMP.

If such a problem is persistent, there are ways to check the server certificate against KDM and CPL to find out wether they really match.

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.

Posts: 3664
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Nov 2000


 - posted 02-16-2018 07:05 PM      Profile for Adam Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Martin       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Leo Enticknap
The KDM XML file will also tell you the serial of the media block
It's not exactly that cut-and-dry. The KDM XML will tell you the player hash. The serial number may or may not be explicitly shown, or it may be shown in hexadecimal format.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.